Sunday , May 22 2022
Hon.Adebo Ogundoyin, Speaker, Oyo State House of Assembly


By Seyifunmi Odunuga

IBADAN – The Oyo State House of Assembly has announced the indefinite suspension of five local government Caretaker Chairmen and eight LCDA Chairmen in the State with immediate effect.

The House has also directed the affected Caretaker Chairmen to hand over to their Secretaries forthwith so as not to create any vacuum.

The affected Local Government Caretaker Chairmen are those of Ido LG, Oluyole LG, Ibadan North East LG, Itesiwaju LG and Oyo East LG while the affected LCDA Caretaker Chairmen are Akinyele East LCDA, Lagelu West LCDA, Soro LCDA, Ogbomoso Central LCDA, Ogbomoso South LCDA, Ajorosun LCDA, Ibarapa North West LCDA, and Oyo South East LCDA.

During its Tuesday, November 3, 2020 plenary session, the House hinged the indefinite suspension of the thirteen Caretaker Chairmen on their failure to submit the report of the status of earth moving equipment in their respective councils to the House as it directed.

Recall that the House had on two occasions directed all Council Chairmen in the state to submit the report and gave October 23, 2020 as deadline for the submission of the report.

The Speaker, Hon Adebo Ogundoyin in his words, said that the affected Caretaker Chairmen demonstrated their gross incompetence over their failure to bring a simple report on the state of earth moving equipment in their different domains.

Hon. Ogundoyin also said the Oyo State House of Assembly was really disappointed in their action and that the Assembly and the people have lost faith in their ability and competence.

Ogundoyin continued, “In section 21 of the Local Government law, it says without prejudice to the provisions of this law and sequel to the petition received by the State House of Assembly and upon investigation, any culpable Chairman or Vice Chairman shall be recommended for suspension or removal by a resolution of the House. It is not a witch-hunt of any Chairman. Thirteen Caretaker Chairmen failed to honor and respect the directive of the House.”

Presenting the report of the Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters earlier, Hon Segun Ademola, Ibadan South East 2 said despite the grace of another two weeks given by the House to Local Governments and Local Council Development Area, they are yet to submit the report of earth-moving equipment in their domains to do so, which lapsed on October 23, 2020 and thirteen Chairmen still failed to submit same as directed.

Hon. Muhammad Fadeyi, the Deputy Speaker, commended the Committee for doing a good job and described the action of the thirteen Caretaker Chairmen as an affront and an insult to the 9th Oyo State House of Assembly, hence they should be suspended indefinitely.

Others including the Majority Leader, Hon Sanjo Adedoyin, the Minority Leader, Hon Asimiyu Alarape, Hon Isiaka Tunde Oyo East/Oyo West and Hon Olusola Owolabi (Ibadan North East 2) were unanimous in applauding the decision of the House to suspend the Caretaker Chairmen and added that it was the duty of the lawmakers to ensure that the Local Government and Local Council Development Area function effectively well.

About Idowu Hamed

Publisher and Editor in Chief - Magazine and Online Tel: 08038525526 - 08023339764 - 08055657329 Email: