Sunday , June 13 2021
Home / HEADLINE / How Ogun Assembly Confirms 17 Commissioner Nominees For Appointments
Governor Dapo Abiodun

How Ogun Assembly Confirms 17 Commissioner Nominees For Appointments

By Raymond Osho

ABEOKUTA: Barely 24 hours after the screening of 17 Commissioner nominees whose names were sent to the Ogun State House of Assembly by Governor Dapo Abiodun for ratification and approval, the Assembly has confirmed their nomination, affirming their eligibility to serve as commissioners in the State.

The unanimous confirmation of the nominees by the lawmakers through a House Resolution at a plenary presided over by Speaker Olakunle Oluomo, followed the presentation of the Report of the Committee on Selection by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff after which the Minority Leader, Ganiu Oyedeji moved the motion for the adoption of the report and supported by the Whole House.

According to the report, “out of the 18 nominees, 17 appeared. Only Dr Tomi Coker did not appear; members examined the Curriculum vitaes and other credentials of the 17 nominees and interviewed them.

“The 17 nominees were found to be eligible and suitable to assume the exalted office of the Honourable Commissioner in Ogun State; the Committee therefore recommend them for the confirmation as Commissioners in Ogun State, having been found eligible as required by Section 192 (4) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”.

Thereafter, the Majority Leader moved the motion for the nominees’ confirmation, seconded by Sylvester Abiodun and supported by all lawmakers through a voice vote.

Responding, the Speaker remarked that the State at this time needed quality services beyond politicking and segregation on the need to promote synergy amongst all arms of government, including relevant stakeholders to advance even development of all parts of the State.

About Idowu Hamed

Publisher and Editor in Chief - Magazine and Online Tel: 08038525526 - 08023339764 - 08055657329 Email: