Saturday , May 28 2022
Home / HEADLINE / Day Yemi Sonde Hosts Media Gurus, Bags StarTrend Gold Award of Excellence, Others
Yemi Since (3rd from left) in a group photographs with L-R, Comes Demola Babalola, Mr. Seyifunmi Odunuga (SeyiChicago) and others on the occasion.

Day Yemi Sonde Hosts Media Gurus, Bags StarTrend Gold Award of Excellence, Others


It was an epoch-making event as Yemi Sonde popularly called “Jigan Akala” signed off on all radio & television stations he has presented on for 32 years of his sojourn in the Broadcasting Industry. 

The “Thank You Lunch” which was held at Mauve 21, Ring Road Ìbàdàn on Wednesday January 5, 2022 featured goodwill messages from friends and colleagues in the broadcasting industry, presentation awards and lunch for guests present at the event.

Yemi Sonde who expressed his gratitude to God for the grace to make the day a reality and for him to actualize his dream as a radio proprietor, thanked creme of the society, among who were Mrs Bolatito Joseph, the Zonal Director, Radio Nigeria, Ibadan Network Centre; Mr Raphael Akpan, National Broadcasting Commission Ibadan Zonal Director; Comrade Demola Babalola, Oyo State NUJ Chairman; Comrade Ṣeun Awódélé, Oyo State FIBAN Chairman; Mr Túndé Olawuwo, the General Manager (Operations) Splash FM; Mr Adesina Alawode, General Manager (Admin) Splash FM and Mr Seyifunmi Odunuga (Chicago); CEO Apreel 1 Events  Management TV.

Others are  Prince Diran Odeyemi  (Former PDP Deputy National Publicity Secretary),  Engr Dr Taiwo Kadri of Katawa Properties Ltd, Mrs Opeyemi Orimolade of BCOS, Basorun Gboyega Lawal, Alagba Kolade Àlàbí, Lere Shittu, Kayode Joseph, the pioneer General Manager Splash FM Ibadan, Alhaji Sulaiman Adegbenro (Consoligbadun), Mr Pekun Oloyede, Yinka Agboola, Publisher Parrot Xtra Magazine, Mustapha Ajísafẹ́ of Sterling Bank, Prince Tunde Balogun (Òru o mọ ẹni ọwọ), Fẹmi Oladele  aka Solar, Yinka James  Adonai, Adetoro Imoyosola, Jide Alawode of Learn Africa PLC, Pastor Bọla Oyediran, Halleluyah Curtains, Management & staffs of Splash & Lagelu FM, Management & staffs of Yemi Sonde Media Group, media houses Representatives across Southwest Nigeria, friends and family of Yemi Sonde amongst many other dignitaries.

Some respected organizations also used the opportunity of the The Thank You Launch to appreciate the Radio Icon with different awards presentations.

These media outfits include StarTrend Int’l magazine and online – which was presented to Yemi Sonde by the Chairman, Oyo State NUJ, Comrade Demola Babalola and Seyifunmi Odunuga (Chicago) on behalf of Elhadj AbuSatar Hamed, Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of StarTrend Int’l while FIBAN Oyo State Chapter also presented an award to Yemi Sonde with the help of Mr. Raphael Akpan, Zonal Director NBC Ìbàdàn,

Yemi Sonde in return presented a “THANK YOU” award to Splash FM Ibadan for being a dependable ally which was done in company of some notable media icons.

The “Thank You Lunch” and “Bowing Out to Refire” are what people termed as “koseleri” in the history of broadcasting industry, and this made Yemi Sonde – Jigan Akala to be a trailblazer among his colleagues.

Yemi Sonde who also extended his appreciation to the house of the founder of West Midlands Communications, owners of Splash FM Ibadan, Lagelu FM and Splash FM Abeokuta for the platform given to him to air his programmes for 15 years.

Oloye Lekan Alabi the Eekarun Olubadan however prayed for Yemi Sonde and the breakthrough for Yes FM Ibadan.

The “Thank You Lunch” was anchored by the duo of Ṣeun Akinola and 13th Disciple while the highly respected DJ AY dished out nice music to the admiration of the guests who were thrilled with sumptuous meals served with assorted drinks.


About Idowu Hamed

Publisher and Editor in Chief - Magazine and Online Tel: 08038525526 - 08023339764 - 08055657329 Email: