Sunday , August 14 2022
Home / HEADLINE / Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 Winners: Lionel Messi, Megan Rapinoe Win Top Prizes

Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 Winners: Lionel Messi, Megan Rapinoe Win Top Prizes

The Barcelona striker, Lionel Messi has won the FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award on Monday September 23, 2019 for a record of sixth time, while Megan Rapinoe won her first at a lavish ceremony at Milan’s iconic Teatro all Scala on Monday September 23, 2019.

Messi, the Argentina striker edged out Juventus’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool centre-back Virgil van Dijk in the yearly competition.

Rapinoe was rewarded at the FIFA Best awards for leading the United States to the women’s World Cup title in July, as was Jill Ellis who won the women’s coach award.

She scored six goals in the tournament, earning her the Golden Boot for the tournament’s top scorer and the Golden Ball as the top player.

Messi’s award moved the Barcelona and Argentina forward one ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo, who was also among the three finalists. Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk was the other finalist.

In a glittering and superlative career to date, there are few personal accolades and records that Lionel Messi has not won. One that had eluded him was the title of The Best FIFA Men’s Player – until this year.

After a magnificent domestic campaign which saw the evergreen Argentinean once more helped his side to the Spanish La Liga title, the tenth of his career, he also claimed the European Golden Shoe for the sixth time after netting 36 league goals in 2018/19.

His remarkable goalscoring record did not hinder his ability to help his team-mates, with La Pulga registering the most La Liga assists (13) throughout the campaign.

His brilliance also helped the Blaugrana to the UEFA Champions League semi-finals and the Copa Del Rey final while he played his part in Argentina’s third-place finish at the Copa America. It may have taken four attempts, but Messi is now The Best.

Bellow is the full list of The Best Fifa Football Awards 2019 winners:

Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo
Lionel Messi – WINNER!
Virgil van Dijk


Best FIFA Women’s Player

Lucy Bronze
Alex Morgan
Megan Rapinoe – WINNER!



Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Pep Guardiola
Jurgen Klopp – WINNER!
Mauricio Pochettino



Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Jill Ellis – WINNER!
Phil Neville
Sarina Wiegman





FIFA Puskas Award

Lionel Messi
Juan Fernando Quintero
Daniel Zsori – WINNER!



Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

Alisson Becker – WINNER!
Marc-Andre ter Stegen




Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

Christiane Endler
Hedwig Lindahl
Sari van Veenendaal – WINNER!



FIFA Fan Award

Silvia Grecco – WINNER!
Justo Sanchez
Netherlands fans




FIFPro Men’s World XI

Alisson Becker (BRA) – Liverpool
Matthijs de Ligt (NED) – Ajax / Juventus
Sergio Ramos (ESP) – Real Madrid
Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool
Marcelo (BRA) – Real Madrid
Luka Modric (CRO) – Real Madrid
Frenkie de Jong (NED) – Ajax/Barcelona
Eden Hazard (BEL) – Chelsea/ Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus
Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – Paris Saint-Germain
Lionel Messi (ARG) – Barcelona

FIFPro Women’s World XI

Sari van Veenendaal (NED) – Arsenal / Atletico Madrid
Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais
Wendie Renard (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais
Nilla Fischer (SWE) – VfL Wolfsburg / Linkopings
Kelley O’Hara (USA) – Utah Royals
Amandine Henry (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais
Julie Ertz (USA) – Chicago Red Stars
Rose Lavelle (USA) – Washington Spirit
Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC
Marta (BRA) – Orlando Pride
Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride
*Courtesy: Evening Standard, AP, Reurters, AFP/Getty Images

About Idowu Hamed

Publisher and Editor in Chief - Magazine and Online Tel: 08038525526 - 08023339764 - 08055657329 Email: