Friday , April 16 2021
Home / HEADLINE / Akeredolu, Aiyedatiwa Sworn-In For 2nd Term

Akeredolu, Aiyedatiwa Sworn-In For 2nd Term

AKURE – Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN), the 6th democratically elected Governor of Ondo state and his Deputy – Lucky Aiyedatiwa, on Wednesday, February 24, 2021 took their oaths of office to pilot the affairs of the state for a second term.

The oaths was adminstered by Chief Judge of Ondo State, Justice Oluwatoyin Akeredolu and Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu now successfully became the 6th democratically elected Governor of Ondo State.

Governor Akeredolu was accompanied by his wife, Betty, children and grandchildren, while his running mate, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, took the oath of office for the first time as Deputy Governor.

The former Ondo Commissioner in the Niger Delta Development Commission took the oath at about 10:30am, and he was accompanied by his wife and three children.

The inauguration ceremony which took place at the Ondo State Culture and Event Centre (The DOME), Igbatoro Road, Akure, was graced by crème of the society. They include the Ekiti State Governor; Dr Kayode Fayemi, his counterparts from Lagos, Ogun, Edo and Osun States; Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Dapo Abiodun, Godwin Obaseki, and Gboyega Oyetola.

Others are the APC National Leader; Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, the pioneer National Chairman of APC; Chief Bisi Akande, former Governor of Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, traditional rulers, religious leaders, eminent personalities, politicians from within and outside the state.

The swearing-in ceremony was done in strict compliance with the COVID-19 protocols, while security operatives were fully on ground to maintain peace and order.

Recall, Akeredolu and Lucky Aiyedatiwa had emerged victorious in the October 10, 2020 governorship election in Ondo State.

On October 11, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Akeredolu as winner of the Ondo state governorship election.

Akeredolu, who ran for reelection on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled a total of 292,830 votes.

About Idowu Hamed

Publisher and Editor in Chief - Magazine and Online Tel: 08038525526 - 08023339764 - 08055657329 Email: